Weber County Human Resources Policy 4-400
Workers’ Compensation

WEBER COUNTY

Purpose

This policy complies with Utah’s Workers” Compensation Act, Utah’s Occupational Disease and
Disability Act and the Volunteer Government Workers Act.

Policy

Weber County provides workers’ compensation coverage for all employees, interns and
volunteers injured on the job, unless they are excluded from coverage under state law.

Procedures
A. Workers’ Compensation Benefits
1. Reporting
a. Report the injury or illness to your supervisor immediately. If you fail to report an
injury or iliness you may be disqualified from receiving workers’ compensation

benefits.
i. Complete the Employee First Report of Incident Report.

b. Within twenty-four (24) hours of being notified of any injury, an administrator,
supervisor, or designee must:
i. Complete the Employer’s Accident Investigation Report (Supervisor Form).
ii. Give a copy of the completed form to the injured employee.

c. Ifan employee dies or incurs a disabling injury:
i. The supervisor must immediately contact the Risk Manager.
ii. The Risk Manager must contact the Occupational Safety and Health Division
of the Utah Labor Commission within eight hours of being notified.
iii. The Risk Manager must notify the Attorney’s Office of the date and time
contact was made with Occupational Safety and Health Division and provide
the name of the person contacted.

d. An employee injured on the job will be paid for the scheduled hours missed on the
day of the accident. Supervisor will add missed hours due to injury to employee’s time
as regular time.

2. Access to Medical Services
a. The County designates its contracted occupational medicine clinic to be its preferred

provider for injured workers. This clinic is:
WorkMed, 1355 W. 3400 S., Ogden, UT 84401.
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b.

Except in cases of life- or limb-threatening injuries and/or after hours, an injured
employee must seek initial medical care through this preferred provider. In case of
life- or limb-threatening injuries and/or after hours, initial care may be provided at
any appropriate medical facility. However, any post emergency follow-up care should
be accessed through the contracted clinic.

Employees may make one change of doctor without prior approval, by completing an
application to change doctors, and submitting the form to Worker Compensation
Fund. Subsequent changes must be pre-approved.

3. If an employee is injured on the job or suffers from a qualifying occupational disease,
Workers’ Compensation will pay:

®ao0ow

hospital and medical bills at the county’s contracted rate

the employee for time lost from work as allowed by law

the employee for a permanent loss of body functions as set by statute
the employee for artificial appliances as set by statute

for death and burial benefits as set by statute

4. Wage Replacement Payments

d.

An employee with a medical release from work will receive wage replacement in the
following manner according to Utah Workers’ Compensation Law:

Medical Release from Work Payments by Workers Compensation
Day of Injury Treated as a work day
Less than 3 days None
1-14 days All EXCEPT first 3 days
More than 14 days All (Including reimbursement for first 3 days)

5. Weekend days and holidays are included when counting the number of days off. Time off
does not need to be consecutive but must be confirmed by a doctor’s report.

6. The treating medical provider must document time away from work following the date of
injury where the employee is totally unable to work, or unable to work a full shift.

7. Workers' Compensation payments are a portion of the worker’s average weekly wage.
The employee may use available leave to supplement workers’ compensation payments but
may not exceed total gross earnings.

8. Following a doctor’s declaration that an employee may return to full duty, occasional
absences from work related to the original injury (doctor’s appointments, etc.) will be charged
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to sick leave. Employees assigned to light duty are compensated at their regular rate of pay

for hours worked.

9. Workers’ compensation fraud, including the filing of a false claim for medical or disability
compensation or the exaggeration of the severity of an injury, is a crime punishable by fines
and confinement in a state prison. Any employee who becomes aware of a situation that may
constitute workers’ compensation fraud should report it to the Risk Manager immediately.

10. Employees who have questions or disputes regarding Workers’ Compensation benefits and
payments should contact the Risk Manager. Employees may also request a hearing with the
Adjudication Division of the Utah Labor Commission.

11. Employees on Workers’ Compensation may continue existing County insurance coverage by
paying the employee’s portion of the total premium.

DATED this day of

, 2021,

ATTEST:

Ricky Hatch, CPA
Weber County Clerk/Auditor

(-

Sarah Swan
Human Resources

Approved as to form and legality:

Courtlan Erickson
Deputy County Attorney

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

OF WEBER COUNTY:

James H. Harvey, Chair
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